WTSSC to Meet at University of Memphis on June 6th 2024


The West Tennessee Seismic Safety Commission ( will hold a public business meeting on Thursday, June 5 from 10:00 AM to 2:00 PM as hosted by University of Memphis. The meeting will be held at the Fed Ex Center located on campus.

The West Tennessee Seismic Safety Commission is a twelve (12) member board, appointed as follows: two (2) members chosen by the speaker of the house of representatives, two (2) members chosen by the speaker of the senate and eight (8) members appointed by the governor. The members include representation from the following disciplines: architecture, fire protection, public utilities, engineering, geology or seismology, local government, insurance, business, emergency health services, nonprofit emergency assistance, local education and emergency management. The commission works with state, federal and local government agencies, to increase earthquake awareness and assist in earthquake planning and response in TN. The University of Memphis serves as WTSSC fiduciary and provides an organizational framework in partnership with the Center for Earthquake Research and Information.

2023-24 WTSSC Chair:     Bart Walls (Jackson)

2023-24 Vice Chair:          TBD

Commissioners:          John Bucy (Martin), Cliff DeBerry (Collierville), Thomas DuBose (Memphis), Gary Graves (Millington), Steve Horton (Memphis), James Medling (Dyersburg), Barry Moore (Memphis).